Blog #16 – Four Cool Role Models

I guess in some ways this list would be more like about the people I grew up idolizing, and so as a boy, most people here are guys. So don’t call me a sexist or anything! 😛

 

a scene from Ocean's Eleven
a scene from Ocean’s Eleven

George Clooney

Growing up most boys wanted to like sport superstars and stuff, but I wanted to be like Clooney. I remember first seeing him in Batman, where his iconic suit with nipples is known for ruining the role.

Anyway I remember watching Ocean’s Eleven with my dad, and I was just so amazed by the way these men, especially Clooney held himself and spoke.  He had this mysterious charm that was just mesmerizing, after that I just tried to be like him, a gentleman who knew how to hold himself, with style.

My mom just adored him.

hawking

Steven Hawking

Growing up as a kid, I was just so engrossed in topics about black holes, and universe stuff, so my dad would try to use the most child friendly way in describing it to me. I always thought black holes would be a much bigger problem to worry about when I grew up, I was afraid of disappearing all of a sudden when I was a kid

I wanna be like Hawking because he is a pioneer in his field, recognized as one of the best. I mean how many people could be physically disabled till a point where he talks through a machine, but still kicks everyones butts in his field of profession?

David-Beckham

David Beckham

I remember having my eyes glued to the tv when I was a kid as I was watching Beckham deliver his famous “Banana Kick”, which is kicking the ball in a way so it curves, making hard to predict its position by the opposition, kinda like baseball.

Every kid in my school yard wanted to be Beckham while we played soccer. With his legendary no.7 jersey and his suave looks, he not only caught the attention of boys, but also the attention young girls who had no interest in sports.

Much like Hawking, I like Beckham because of how he dominated in his field of profession. And in addition to that, he was not just talented, but he was also very modest and also a humanitarian. In his later years he donated all of his pay to charity while he played for a soccer club in Paris. We’re talking hundreds of thousands here, month after month, all to charity.

Aung_San_Suu_Kyi_17_November_2011

Aung San Suu Kyi

Despite all the challenges she faced, she still persisted in her belief and worked hard to get to where she is today. Growing up in Asia, she was always a big figure there, being one of the most influential and powerful females in politics in the world and one of the most famous fighters of democracy.

Winning tons of prizes including the Nobel Peace Prize, she is still going strong, and planned to run for presidency in 2015 in Myanmar.

I wanna be like her because of her spirit in not giving up in what she believed. Put under house arrest by the military government for almost 15 years and after countless death threats she still hasn’t given up in what she believed in. Now that’s commitment.

Leave a Reply

